loader
DE
ABOUTguidesPressDE

SHOPPING

MYKITA

G

“MYKITA is the ship we always wanted, built with our own hands and very much sailing under its own flag. It all began with a handful of friends at an old nursery in the heart of what used to be East Berlin. Today, most of these protagonists are still on board and have been joined by many other like-minded spirits,” says the founder of MYKITA in her book “MYKITA EIGHT”. The team behind “Meiner Kita” (German for “My Nursery”, a reference to their first premises in a former children’s nursery) – abbreviated to MYKITA – are the heart and soul of the meanwhile internationally renowned brand, which produces spectacles and sunglasses, meanwhile also for children.

MYKITA

G

“MYKITA is the ship we always wanted, built with our own hands and very much sailing under its own flag. It all began with a handful of friends at an old nursery in the heart of what used to be East Berlin. Today, most of these protagonists are still on board and have been joined by many other like-minded spirits,” says the founder of MYKITA in her book “MYKITA EIGHT”. The team behind “Meiner Kita” (German for “My Nursery”, a reference to their first premises in a former children’s nursery) – abbreviated to MYKITA – are the heart and soul of the meanwhile internationally renowned brand, which produces spectacles and sunglasses, meanwhile also for children.

All MYKITA models are produced at their glasses manufactory, the MYKITA HAUS in Berlin-Kreuzberg. Handmade in Germany is a seal of quality and underlines the huge respect they have for craftsmanship.

 

MYKITA works with international designers like Damir Doma and Maison Margiela. As well as individual design and the best quality, the label also attaches great importance to a visionary use of materials. MYKITA’s self-developed high-tech material MYLON meanwhile has its own collection and won the Red Dot Design Award for best product design.

 

All MYKITA shops worldwide, including the store at the Bikini Berlin concept shopping mall, are self-designed by the label, which perfectly reflects the its own standards when it comes to aesthetics and shifts the focus on what really matters: the glasses. After all, eyewear accompanies us more than an item of clothing, day after day, and deserves to be treated as the ‘it’ piece of our wardrobes.

 



VIDEOS

loader
X
Das Affentheater
 
EN
ABOUTFührungenPresseEN

SHOPPING

MYKITA

EG

Die Designbrillen Manufaktur

“MYKITA ist das Schiff, das wir immer wollten, selbstgebaut auf eigenem Kurs. In einer ehemaligen Kindertagesstätte im Ostteil von Berlin fing alles mit einer Handvoll Freunden an. Die meisten Protagonisten der ersten Stunde sind noch heute mit an Bord und über die Jahre kamen viele Leute hinzu”, so die MYKITA Gründer in ihrem Buch “MYKITA EIGHT”. Die Mannschaft hinter “Meiner Kita” - also MYKITA - machen die Marke aus, sie ist das Herzstück dieser mittlerweile international bekannten Marke, die optische Brillen und Sonnenbrillen fertigt (neuerdings auch für Kinder).

MYKITA

EG

Die Designbrillen Manufaktur

“MYKITA ist das Schiff, das wir immer wollten, selbstgebaut auf eigenem Kurs. In einer ehemaligen Kindertagesstätte im Ostteil von Berlin fing alles mit einer Handvoll Freunden an. Die meisten Protagonisten der ersten Stunde sind noch heute mit an Bord und über die Jahre kamen viele Leute hinzu”, so die MYKITA Gründer in ihrem Buch “MYKITA EIGHT”. Die Mannschaft hinter “Meiner Kita” - also MYKITA - machen die Marke aus, sie ist das Herzstück dieser mittlerweile international bekannten Marke, die optische Brillen und Sonnenbrillen fertigt (neuerdings auch für Kinder).

Alle MYKITA Modelle stammen aus der eigenen Berliner Brillenmanufaktur, dem MYKITA HAUS in Kreuzberg. Handmade in Germany ist Qualitätssiegel und unterstreicht den großen Respekt vor der Handwerkskunst.

MYKITA arbeitet mit internationalen Designern wie Damir Doma oder Maison Margiela zusammen.

Dem Label ist neben individuellem Design und bester Qualität vor allem auch der visionäre Umgang mit Materialien wichtig. Das von MYKITA entwickelte High-Tec Material MYLON ist heute eine eigene Produktlinie. Sie wurde für das beste Produktdesign mit dem Red Dot Design Award ausgezeichnet.

Alle MYKITA Shops weltweit, auch der Laden in der Concept Shopping Mall Bikini Berlin, vereint ein selbst entwickeltes Retail-Design, das perfekt den hauseigenen Anspruch an Ästhetik wiederspiegelt und den Fokus auf das Elementare lenkt: die Brille. Sie begleitet uns, mehr als ein Kleidungsstück, Tag für Tag. Sie ist das ganz besondere IT-Piece unserer Garderobe.

VIDEOS