loader
X
Das Affentheater
 
DE
ABOUTguidesPressDE

EXHIBITIONS

MINIMAL X MONOCHROME

Following the opening of its headquarters in Saxony-Anhalt, the museum start-up Kunstmuseum Humboldtschloss (Humboldtschloss Art Museum) will be hosting a pop-up gallery at Bikini Berlin until the end of October: THE BIKINI DIARIES. With new solo shows every month, the Munich filmmaker and curator Ralf Würth and his team, as well as Max Weber from the renowned gallery MAX WEBER SIX FRIEDRICH, will be showing selected items from the disciplines of photography, painting and sculpture.

In June 2016, exhibits by Manuela Xavier from Portugal and Katharina Lehmann from Russia will be shown, bringing together work that transgresses the boundaries between painting and object design by two members of the Künstler-Werkbund 1791 (an interdisciplinary artist federation). 

Sculptor and painter Xavier works monochromatically, drawing her influences from both abstract expressionism as well as minimalism. Intuitively, she alternates between rough and smooth surfaces, between silence and rhythm, in order to force the central element of her series – light – out of the darkness. 

With her very own unique technique of thread-drip painting, Katharina Lehmann breaks every dogma of abstract circles. She wraps kilometres of acrylic-soaked thread into shapes that create an abstract galaxy of network hubs. This results in complex dichotomous gridded structures, allowing the observer a wide spectrum of interpretation.

loader
X
Das Affentheater
 
EN
ABOUTFührungenPresseEN

EXHIBITIONS

MINIMAL X MONOCHROME

Mit der Reihe THE BIKINI DIARIES bespielt das Museum-Startup Kunstmuseum Humboldtschloss nach Eröffnung des Stammhauses in Sachsen-Anhalt noch bis Ende Oktober eine Pop-Up Galerie im Bikini Berlin. In monatlich wechselnden Soloshows zeigt das Team um den Münchner Filmemacher und Kurator Ralf Würth sowie Max Weber von der traditionsreichen Galerie MAX WEBER SIX FRIEDRICH Auszüge aus aktuellen Positionen der Bereiche Photographie, Malerei und Skulptur.

Im Juni 2016 treffen mit Manuela Xavier aus Portugal und Katharina Lehmann aus Russland 2 Protagonistinnen des Künstler-Werkbunds 1791 aufeinander, die sich beide im Grenzgebiet von Malerei und Objektgestaltung verorten lassen. 

Die Bildhauerin und Malerin Xavier arbeitet in der Tradition der monochromatischen Malerei, ist sowohl vom abstrakten Expressionismus wie auch vom Minimalismus beeinflusst. Intuitiv wechselt sie zwischen rauen und glatten Flächen, zwischen Ruhe und Rhythmus hin und her, um das zentrale Element ihrer Serien - das Licht - in die vorgegebenen Bahnen zu zwingen. 

Katharina Lehmann bricht mit ihrer ureigenen Technik des Thread-Drip-Painting jedes Dogma der abstrakten Zirkel. Sie wickelt Kilometer von acrylgetränktem Faden zu einer abstrakten Galaxie aus Netzwerk-Hubs. Dabei entstehen dichotomische Strukturen eines Planquadrats, welches dem Betrachter Interpretationsspielräume gewährt.