This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy. Read more




On 20th May 2016 the 2016 GERMAN ACTORS’ AWARDS were presented at our Zoo Palast cinema. The after-show party was held in Bikini Berlin’s concept shopping mall event space.


THE GERMAN ACTORS’ AWARDS are a set of very special awards by actors for actors and people who have significantly inspired and supported the art of acting through their work. The prize is awarded to personalities who, as a result of their creative achievements, have helped promote a multifaceted image of German film and also inspired others in the process.

It reflects the actors’ unique viewpoint of acting achievements and acknowledges personalities who have significantly inspired others through their work in the long term, creating space for creativity and expanding people’s horizons.


The GERMAN ACTORS’ AWARDS were established by the German association of actors, the Bundesverband Schauspiel e.V., (or BFFS for short) and were presented for the first time during the 2012 Berlinale. The awards ceremony is a non-profit event, which is only made possible by the generous voluntary commitment of the actors and actresses, numerous friends and supporters and patrons and sponsors.

At the 2016 awards, Armin Mueller-Stahl received the “Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award” from the BFFS for his internationally acclaimed acting achievements. This means he joins the ranks of previous winners Rolf Hoppe (Honorary Award Winner in 2015), Senta Berger (2014), Katharina Thalbach (2013) and Götz George (2012).


Isabel Coixet, Catalan director, scriptwriter and president of EWA, the European Women’s Audiovisual Network, received the “Honorary Inspiration Award”, which the BFFS’ board of directors awards every year to a personality or institution whose achievements have significantly fostered and promoted the art of acting.

After the successful award ceremony, the lavish celebrations went on into the early hours – we would like to thank the GERMAN ACTORS’ AWARDS, the Bundesverband Schauspiel e.V. and all of the guests for this wonderfully inspiring evening.