loader
DE

Artists & Exhibitions

BREATHING WAVES

 

30.07. - 30.09.2021

 

Breathing Waves showcases textile sculptures and photographic work related to the beauty of our world’s oceans and the devastating effects of climate change on coral reefs by the renowned Italian artist Paola Idrontino.

"When I experienced diving for the first time I became enchanted with what I saw. There is so much beauty hiding beneath the waves and with this project, I wish to bring some of that beauty back out of the ocean. As an individual, I can take action to change the fate of our world’s oceans. As an artist, I feel responsible to present the story of our oceans in ways that engage a global audience and create awareness that leads to the necessary action." - Paola Idrontino

The project took two years to complete. It is entirely handmade using a variety of fabrics, most of which are recycled. At the vernissage on July 30th guests at BIKINI BERLIN will be handed 3D glasses to view the artworks as if underwater. Evanescent; a textile sculpture that portrays the coral bleaching caused by climate change takes center stage. Slightly bigger than life-size, the sculpture stands 200cm tall, 200cm wide, 400cm long. The artist finds inspiration from diving exploration where an abundance of vibrant colors and life is tucked away and easily unnoticed. together with American art curator Sara Lily Perez, a show like Berlin has never seen before with a collection of the artist's best works to date will be on Display at Bikini Berlin, Galerie SLP. This exhibition brings out the hidden beauty from within the oceans and showcases our marine life's wonders with a magnificent collection of coral sculptures. 

The exibition will be at BIKINI BERLIN until the end of September 2021. 

BIKINI BERLIN, Galerie SLP at 1st floor, Budapester Str. 38-50, 10787 Berlin, S-/U-Bahnhof Zoologischer Garten 

Mondays to Saturdays 10:00 am – 8:00 pm

Admission is free.

loader
EN

Artists & Exhibitions

BREATHING WAVES

 

30.07. - 30.09.2021

 

Breathing Waves zeigt textile Skulpturen und fotografische Arbeiten der renommierten italienischen Künstlerin Paola Idrontino, die sich mit der Schönheit unserer Weltmeere und den verheerenden Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Korallenriffe beschäftigen. 

"Als ich zum ersten Mal tauchen ging, war ich verzaubert von dem, was ich sah. Es gibt so viel Schönheit, die sich unter den Wellen verbirgt, und mit diesem Projekt möchte ich etwas von dieser Schönheit aus dem Ozean zurückholen. Als Einzelperson kann ich etwas tun, um das Schicksal der Ozeane unserer Welt zu verändern. Als Künstlerin fühle ich mich verantwortlich, die Geschichte unserer Ozeane auf eine Art und Weise zu präsentieren, die ein globales Publikum anspricht und ein Bewusstsein schafft, das zu den notwendigen Maßnahmen führt." - Paola Idrontino

Die Fertigstellung des Ausstellungprojekts dauerte zwei Jahre. Es ist komplett handgefertigt und besteht aus einer Vielzahl von Stoffen, von denen die meisten recycelt sind. Zur Vernissage am 30. Juli wird den Gästen bei BIKINI BERLIN eine 3D-Brille gereicht, um die Kunstwerke wie unter Wasser zu betrachten. Evanescent; eine Textilskulptur, die das durch den Klimawandel verursachte Korallenbleichen darstellt, steht im Mittelpunkt. Etwas größer als lebensgroß, ist die Skulptur 200 cm hoch, 200 cm breit und 400 cm lang. Die Künstlerin findet ihre Inspiration beim Tauchen, wo eine Fülle von lebendigen Farben und Leben versteckt und leicht unbemerkt ist. Zusammen mit der amerikanischen Kunstkuratorin Sara Lily Perez wird im Bikini Berlin, Galerie Sara Lily Perez, eine Ausstellung zu sehen sein, wie sie Berlin noch nie gesehen hat, mit einer Sammlung der bisher besten Arbeiten der Künstlerin. Diese Ausstellung bringt die verborgene Schönheit aus dem Inneren der Ozeane zum Vorschein und zeigt die Wunder unseres Meereslebens mit einer großartigen Sammlung von Korallenskulpturen. 

Die Ausstellung gastiert bis Ende September 2021 bei BIKINI BERLIN.

BIKINI BERLIN, Galerie SLP im 1. OG, Budapester Str. 38-50, 10787 Berlin, S-/U-Bahnhof Zoologischer Garten 

montags bis samstags 10:00 - 19:00

Der Eintritt ist kostenlos.